Cromwell Democratic
Town Committe

Click here to edit subtitle


Cromwell Democrats pick slate for November 2017

Posted by scordo17 on September 26, 2017 at 1:20 PM

Excerpet From the Middletown Press:  

CROMWELL >> Democrats are fielding a team for the November elections that includes a mix of both old and new faces.

The party has reached back to two former selectmen, Myron P. Johnson and Richie Waters, to join Allan Waters (Richie’s brother) and newcomer James Demetriades on the slate for the council. In doing so, however, the party chose not to re-nominate incumbent councilor Thomas Tokarz.

The party nominee for mayor is teacher Ken Smith.

The list of nominees was released by Democratic Town Committee Chairwoman Shirley Banic.

Allan Waters, who is also the commodore of the Cromwell Outboard Association, is now the second longest serving member of the council. He has served a total of eight two-year terms, six on the Board of Selectmen. He is currently in his second two-year term on the Town Council.

The longest serving member of the council is Waters’ Republican colleague, Deputy Mayor Richard R. Newton, who has served a total of 34 years on the board/council.

Richie Waters served two years on the Board of Selectmen during the administration of First Selectman Jeremy J. Shingleton. Rich Waters is also a member of the Planning and Zoning Commission.

In the past several months, Richie Waters has emerged as a persistent critic of Mayor Enzo Faienza.

Johnson, a contractor, previously served two terms on the Board of Selectmen. Most recently, he ran unsuccessfully in 2016 against state Rep. Christie Carpino.

Demetriades, 23, is a law school student whose involvement in politics so far has included interning for state Sen. Paul Doyle and U.S. Rep. Rosa DeLauro. He did manage Portland resident and Selectwoman Kathleen G. Richards’ unsuccessful 2013 campaign against Carpino. This is Demetriades’ first run for elective office.

Smith’s most overtly political action so far involved his calling for a strong mayor during a public hearing on the proposed charter revisions that will be on the ballot in November. However, the commission which has revised the charter did not include any change to the manager/mayor system currently in place.

The town committee caucus re-nominated incumbent Joan Ahlquist for town clerk.

They also nominated Charles Epstein for the post of tax collector.

The caucus endorsed incumbent Joseph Corlis for another term on the Board of Finance and reached out to bring back former chairman Edwin J. Maley to serve once again on the board.

The caucus re-nominated two incumbent board of Education members — Jordan S. Lamberson and Paul M. Sousa. The party also nominated two new members — Stephen A. Palmer and Banic, who had previously served on the board, including as chairwoman."


Categories: None

Post a Comment


Oops, you forgot something.


The words you entered did not match the given text. Please try again.

Already a member? Sign In

1 Comment

Reply CliffDrolo
2:29 AM on March 16, 2019 
Joe Bonamassa is an acclaimed nation vocalist, so don't miss the likelihood to visit Joe Bonamassa concerts